Ballon d’Or vs FIFA’s The Best: What’s the difference between two best player awards?

The main difference between ‘The Best and the Ballon d’Or lies in who offers the trophy. In the first, it is FIFA that designates the winner, while the second is awarded by ‘France Football’.

There are awards for top goalscorers, for example, while goalkeepers are praised for keeping clean sheets at the other end of the pitch.

However, the players who exert the most influence on their team and have the deepest impact on games are the ones who receive the highest individual accolades.

In the football world, there are two main individual awards that are considered to be the top tier: the Ballon d’Or and FIFA’s The Best.

What’s the main difference between Ballon d’Or and Fifa’s The Best?

There are a number of differences between the two awards which set the Ballon d’Or and The Best separated from one another.

Who is the Responsible for this separation?

The magazine France Football is responsible for the Ballon d’Or, while football’s world governing body, FIFA, is the driving force behind The Best.

How players are judged?

While the Ballon d’Or takes into account a player’s performances over the course of the calendar year, The Best assesses players over the course of a season, so from summer to summer.

As such, they are awarded at different times of the year. The Ballon d’Or award ceremony is traditionally held in December of a given year, whereas The Best awards are given out in autumn – usually September.

They also diverge when it comes to choosing.

The hero of the Ballon d’Or is decided for exclusively by a panel of reporters from across the world. The Best, on the other hand, is decided by what FIFA reports as an “international jury” including the coaches and captains of national teams, reporters and fans.

How was Ballon d’Or and The best trophies made?

The trophies are also different. The Ballon d’Or is a striking golden ball holding on a pyrite base which is made to look like a bed of crystals. FIFA’s The Best trophy, meanwhile, is a platinum and carbon construction, which resembles the highest prize in football – the World Cup.

First awarded in 1956, the Ballon d’Or (which is French for Golden Ball) is the older of the two accolades, with The Best first appearing in 2017.

Was FIFA involved with the Ballon d’Or?

Yes, FIFA was involved with the Ballon d’Or while  France Football is running between 2010 and 2015.

FIFA World Player of the Year award from 1991, but it became extinct when they merged it with the Ballon d’Or.

In a sense, the establishment of FIFA’s new ‘The Best’ award is a sort of resurrection of the old FIFA World Player of the Year.


Related posts

Ronaldo spent his shame on rape charges…!

Suhrid Barua

Mbappe off the field again

Raisul islam Asif

Ronaldo wept after watching video of the deceased father

Suhrid Barua

Rahim Sterling can reach Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo in Man City, claims Pep Guardiola

Suhrid Barua

Real Madrid Survived,Messi’s FC Barcelona need to test

Abid Siam

Lionel Messi wins Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year award

Reyad Hasan

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More